Shaheen Asmayee Wins Afghan Premier League's Championship

Oct 17, 2020

Shaheen Asmayee Wins Afghan Premier League's Championship

Kabul (Afghanistan) October 17: Shaheen Asmayee Football Club won the Afghan Premier League's (APL) championship for the fifth time after defeating Simorgh Alborz F.C. in the final match on Friday.
The match ended 1-0 in favor of Shaheen Asmayee.
The match started with multiple attacks from the two sides. Shaheen's Fardin Hakimi scored the first goal for his team in the 19th minute of the match.
Simorgh Alborz scored a goal in the 30th minute of the match but the assistant referee announced offside. Simorgh players continued their attacks and had another chance in 35th minute of the match but could not score a goal.
The second match started with many attempts by Simorgh Alborz. Shaheen players had some chances in counterattacks but none of them resulted in a goal.
In 58th minute of the match, Anwar Akbari of Simorgh Alborz created a chance for his team to score a goal but it was nicely defended by Shaheen Asmayee's goalkeeper.
The stadium was packed with thousands of spectators, including prominent Afghan political leaders like First Vice President Amrullah Saleh, Abdullah Abdullah head of the High Council for National Reconciliation and parliament speaker.
Shaheen Asmayee, De Maiwand Atalan, Toofan Harirod, Simorgh Alborz, Mawjhai Amu, De Spinghar Bazan, De Abasin Sape, and Oqaban Hindukosh are the eight APL teams representing all 34 provinces in Afghanistan.
The four teams in the semifinals round were Shaheen Asmayee, De Spin Ghar Bazan, Toofan Harirod, and Simorgh Alborz.
Last time Shaheen Asmayee won the championship was in 2017 when it won the match against De Maiwand Atalan 4-3. Shaheen was stopped by Toofan Harirod two years after that in 2018 and 2019.
Simorgh Alborz has advanced to the final round of the Afghan Premier League three times, including this year, but has not been able to win the title.
The theme for the ninth year of the Afghan Premier League was once again "one nation, one voice."
Shaheen Asmayee Football Club is representing the capital Kabul, while Simorgh Alborz is representing the northern zone of Afghanistan.
Shaheen Asmayee faced De Spin Ghar Bazan Football Club in the semifinals in which it won the match 2-0. Shaheen advanced to the finals with three wins and seven points.
Simorgh Alborz also had three wins but it had four points when it advanced to the finals.
Toofan Harirod Football Club from the western zone won last year's championship. Toofan was stopped by Simorgh Alborz in the semifinals.
Source: TOLO News